Buy a Gift Voucher

Bookbinding and Book Conservation for all abilities

Bookbinding and Book Conservation for all abilities

Duration: one day to three days.

Price: £100

Run by: Marysa de Veer
at Otter Education Ltd

01730 352042

Cissbury
Ashfield Road
Midhurst
West Sussex
GU29 9JS

Contact course provider

About the Course

This course runs for either one day or all three and is held monthly in my workshop in Midhurst in West Sussex.

I cater for all abilities and specialise in small classes so that students receive maximum tutor attention. If you have no experience, you will be taught how to make a book and within a day you will have sewn and made covers for your book and even if there is time, embossed your name on the cover.

For those wishing to dive in deeper, I offer structured City and Guilds courses as well as my own curriculum based on my 2 years at college and my 25+ years as a bookbinder. This syllabus runs to the schedule of the person learning it, ie, you can start the book in the workshop, finish it at home and come back and continue building on what you already know.

I am Marysa de Veer and have a Diploma in Bookbinding and Conservation, a certificate in chemistry for conservators and am a member of the Society of Bookbinders and Designer bookbinders. I have extensive experience in teaching a wide range of bookbinding styles. I love the artistic contemporary books too and enjoy making my own paste papers for books.

If booking with a CraftCourses voucher for part or all of the course fee, please fill in the contact form above or telephone us. Your voucher code must be provided at the point of booking.

What's included in the price?

Included in the day are teas, coffees and croissants in the morning, lunch, most materials except for some such as leather and decorative papers which will be at cost.


Review this course

:  
 
 
 
 

Please note that email addresses added here are not published. Contact information will not be shared or used for marketing unless you opt to receive our monthly newsletter about UK creative courses. You will be notified by email within two weeks if the course provider responds to your review.


Course Start Dates

Saturday 2nd February 2019
Sunday 3rd February 2019
Monday 4th February 2019
Saturday 2nd March 2019
Sunday 3rd March 2019
Monday 4th March 2019
Saturday 30th March 2019
Sunday 31st March 2019
Monday 1st April 2019
Saturday 4th May 2019
Sunday 5th May 2019
Monday 6th May 2019
Saturday 1st June 2019
Sunday 2nd June 2019
Monday 3rd June 2019

  • Qualification offered
  • Suitable for beginners
  • Suitable for events & groups
  • Teen friendly