learn Pyrography

No image available

Duration: 1 day

Price: £95

Run by: stephen wills
at The Black Smith Company

07810046563

This course is also taught online.

harrogate
harrogate
uk
HG4 1QH

Contact course provider

About the Course

Learn pyrography: develop skills in burning freehand designs on wood and leather.

Pyrography involves using a heated implement to burn a design freehand into a surface; traditionally wood, but also leather, , bone,

Ideal for the beginner, this course provides a full introduction to the decorative art of pyrography which involves using a specialised electrically heated pen to burn designs on natural materials. It will focus on both wood and leather. The morning will be spent learning how to handle the pen and investigating various shading techniques. Students will then go on to produce a variety of small completed projects in both these materials to take home. Guidance on transferring a design provided, as well as advice on lettering and drawing a pencil guideline directly on to the surface. No artistic skills necessary as a choice of designs will be available.

This course is suitable for beginners age 16 +. Please wear comfortable casual clothes with closed toe shoes.

If booking with a CraftCourses voucher for part or all of the course fee, please fill in the contact form above or telephone us. Your voucher code must be provided at the point of booking.



Review this course

:  
 
 
 
 

Course Start Dates

Saturday 20th January 2018
Sunday 21st January 2018
Friday 26th January 2018
Saturday 27th January 2018
Friday 2nd February 2018
Saturday 3rd February 2018
Saturday 10th February 2018
Sunday 11th February 2018
Friday 16th February 2018
Saturday 17th February 2018
Friday 23rd February 2018
Saturday 24th February 2018
Sunday 25th February 2018
Friday 2nd March 2018
Saturday 3rd March 2018

Browse all UK Pyrography courses, Leather work courses, and Traditional woodland crafts & green woodworking courses


  • Accessible by public transport
  • Suitable for events & groups

Silver Badge
What does this mean?

This craft course provider has been awarded Silver status for receiving 5 or more 5 star ratings from previous students.

The Students' Choice award ensures that course providers get recognised for their efforts in the teaching and practice of UK craft.

They also allow tutors to gain valuable feedback on their courses and for new students to find the course that's right for them.