Bladesmithing - Assorted Courses including Seax, Chef and Bushcraft Knife

Bladesmithing - Assorted Courses including Seax, Chef and Bushcraft Knife

Duration: Two days

Price: £300

Run by: Ali English
at Eldrum and Redwolf

01472 398915

Kenwood
Swallow Road
Thorganby
Grimsby
Lincolnshire
DN37 0SU

Contact course provider

About the Course

Join bladesmith Matt Aldridge at his forge in Lincolnshire for a range of two day workshops where you will learn how to make a knife from start to finish.

The sessions include forging a billet of steel to shape, using a belt grinder to remove excess metal, heat treating your knife, and how to fit and finish a solid handle. Each student will go home with one completed knife.

We have a range of dates and subjects booked throughout the year for these courses, as follows:

Sat 26th and Sun 27th May - Make a Seax
Sat 23rd and Sun 24th June - Make Your own Chef Knife
Sat 14th and Sun 15th July - Pattern Welded Blade, Part One
Sat 21st and Sun 22nd July - Pattern Welded Blade, Part Two
Sat 15th and Sun 16th September - Make your own Bushcraft Knife
Sat 13th and Sun 14th October - Make your own Chef Knife
Sat 17th and Sun 18th November - Make your own Seax
Sat 15th and Sun 16th December - Make your own Bushcraft Knife.

If booking with a CraftCourses voucher for part or all of the course fee, please fill in the contact form above or telephone us. Your voucher code must be provided at the point of booking.

What's included in the price?

Sessions include all materials to make your knife, as well as lunch, tea and coffee through the day (as well as cakes or biscuits if my partner has been baking!) I'll contact you in advance to sort out any special dietary requirements.

There is room for two people on each course - and the fee drops to £250 per person if two people book on and attend at the same time, so why not bring along a friend or family member?

The pattern weld sessions are £250 per person, and you will need to book onto both in order to finish a blade.



Review this course

:  
 
 
 
 

Please note that email addresses added here are not published. Contact information will not be shared or used for marketing unless you opt to receive our monthly newsletter about UK creative courses.


Course Start Dates

Saturday 26th May 2018
Sunday 27th May 2018
Saturday 23rd June 2018
Sunday 24th June 2018
Saturday 14th July 2018
Sunday 15th July 2018
Saturday 15th September 2018
Sunday 16th September 2018
Saturday 13th October 2018
Sunday 14th October 2018
Saturday 17th November 2018
Sunday 18th November 2018
Saturday 15th December 2018
Sunday 16th December 2018

Browse all UK Bladesmithing: Knife, sword, dagger & axe making courses


  • Suitable for beginners