Craft Courses
Learn creative, craft and artisan skills
at courses across the UK

Axe making courses learn to Forge weld Bladesmithing

Axe making courses learn to Forge weld  Bladesmithing

Address:
1 Newby Street
North Yorkshire
HG4 1QH

Course Length: 2 days

Price: £350

5 star rating, 9 reviewers.

Gift vouchers available

Contact course provider


Course Start Dates
Wednesday 23rd August 2017
Saturday 26th August 2017
Sunday 27th August 2017
Saturday 2nd September 2017
Sunday 3rd September 2017
Wednesday 6th September 2017
Sunday 10th September 2017
Wednesday 13th September 2017
Friday 15th September 2017
Saturday 16th September 2017
Sunday 17th September 2017
Wednesday 20th September 2017
Saturday 23rd September 2017
Sunday 24th September 2017
Wednesday 27th September 2017
Wednesday 4th October 2017
Wednesday 18th October 2017
Wednesday 25th October 2017
Friday 27th October 2017
Saturday 28th October 2017
Friday 3rd November 2017
Saturday 4th November 2017
Friday 10th November 2017
Saturday 11th November 2017
Friday 17th November 2017
Saturday 18th November 2017
Tuesday 28th November 2017
Wednesday 29th November 2017

Description:

items to you will make over the two days - eg, a bearded axe, a full handle, and a tomahawk. You will learn to make using a traditional blacksmith's forge for the tomahawk and bearded axe. You will learn to forge weld the tomahawk and bearded axe.The smithing process is quite fine and not as heavy handed as regular blacksmithing. It is more akin to jewellery making techniques.

Courses are run on a one to one basis to maximise the day. Over 18s only.
350.00 per person for two days

No places will be booked without payment being made on the day of booking.

What's included in the price?

All tools and materials are supplied. Bring your own lunch. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided.


Want to review this course?

A great introduction to bladesmithing. Two full and enjoyable days spent forging a knife and making a sheath.
Stuart has a great sense of humour and a passion for his craft. Cheers pal.
Book a course and you won't be disappointed.

-

What a day - hands on and great to see the end product from a piece of metal at the start. Stewart is very patient and encouraging. Highly recommended.

-

A grand day out - what an experience - really enjoyed the hammering lol. Great teacher. Highly recommended.

-

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience - a challenge at first but Stuart is an excellent tutor - very patient and attentive. Highly recommended.

-

Brilliant introduction to the world of bladesmithing - did not realise how much work was involved - but a great hands on experience.

-

Wow - a blade from a blank form. It is great to see it transforming. Very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

-

Great course - Stuart has a lot of knowledge and is patient and empowering. A knife to take away. Brilliant.

-

Forged a knife and within a day a finished item. Great tutor with bags of patience. Highly recommended.

-

Great tutor with patience but a wealth of knowledge. Able to work at my own pace and take home a finished knife at the end of the day. Recommended.

-

Review this course

Your email address will not be used in any way unless you decide to sign up to our newsletter.
:   
 
 
 
 

Browse all UK Blacksmithing courses, Metal craft courses, and Welding courses


Platinum Badge
What does this mean?

This craft course provider has been awarded Platinum status for receiving 50 or more 5 star ratings from previous students.

The Students' Choice award ensures that course providers get recognised for their efforts in the teaching and practice of UK craft.

They also allow tutors to gain valuable feedback on their courses and for new students to find the course that's right for them.

  • Accessible by public transport
  • Suitable for events & groups